Your Guide to Buying Diamonds
- The 4 C's -

The 4 C's classify the value of diamonds. Every diamond's price, rarity and beauty are determined by the combination of:

Diamond Cut, Diamond Color, Diamond Clarity and Diamond Carat Weight.

Only you can decide which of the 4 C's is most important to you.

Some people prefer size (carat) — while another might choose a smaller diamond as long as it was a "perfect" diamond with no flaws (clarity) — while yet another would choose the brilliant diamond with the most sparkle (cut), regardless of its size or any small imperfections not visible to the eye.

The saying "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder" is most appropriate to you, the client.

For more information on the Diamonds 4 C's ...
Click on the headings below.

Diamond Cut

Diamond Cut, One of the 4 C'sCut describes the proportions and angles of a diamond. Many people confuse cut with the shape of a diamond. Although nature determines the other three characteristics, it takes a master diamond cutter to reveal a diamond's true beauty.

Diamonds are available in various shapes including round, square, pear, heart, marquise and oval, but cut refers to the angles and proportions of a diamond.

A well-cut diamond reflects light from one mirror-like facet to another and projects the light through the top of the stone. The result is a fiery and brilliant display. Diamonds that are cut too deep or too shallow leak light through the side or bottom, resulting in a lackluster appearance and diminished value.

Diamond cut diagram

Diamond Color

Diamond Color, One of the 4 C'sWhite-colored diamonds remain the most popular even though diamonds are found in a kaleidoscope of colors. Diamonds are graded on a color scale implemented by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), which ranges from D, which is colorless, to Z.

Color differences can be so subtle that diamond colors are graded under controlled lighting conditions and are compared to a master set for accuracy. While truly colorless diamonds, graded D, are treasured for their rarity, diamond color is ultimately a very personal taste.

Ask us, your Master IJO Jeweler, to show you an array of color grades next to each other to help you determine your color preference.

Diamond Color Scale

Diamond Clarity

Diamond Clarity, One of the 4 C'sNature ensures that each diamond is as individual as the person who wears it.

Naturally occurring inclusions, or flaws, such as minerals or fractures are identifying characteristics created while diamonds are formed in the earth. Master IJO Jewelers use magnification to view diamonds at 10X their actual size so these tiny inclusions are more easily seen.

Inclusions are measured on a scale of perfection, known as clarity, which was established by GIA (Gemological Institute of America). The greater a diamond's clarity, the more rare and valuable it is. An inclusion in the middle or top of a diamond could impact the dispersion of light, making it less brilliant.

Diamond Clarity Scale

Diamond Carat Weight

Diamond Carat Weight, One of the 4 C'sCarat is a diamond's measure of weight, not size.

One full carat is equal to 100 points. A 3/4 carat diamond is the same as 75 points. Since larger diamonds are found less frequently in nature, a 1 carat diamond will cost more than twice a 1/2 carat diamond (assuming all other characteristics remain constant).

The cut and the mounting can make a diamond appear larger than its actual weight. Your Master IJO Jeweler will help you find the right diamond and mounting to optimize its beauty.

Diamonds, diamonds, diamonds

Trust the most important occasions of your life
to the experience and professionalism of the staff at Sid Stevens Jewelers.

Please feel free to contact us.

We have jewelry professionals ready to help.